What we do…

When you get off work, what do you do? Once you get home, eat dinner, watch TV and go to bed? Who is waiting for you? Are you married or single?

I had to think about that for a while before I sat down to write this. I realized that things have changed from the time I was growing up and now. When I was growing up, when my parents were done with work we all sat at the table and had a nice dinner. My mom ran a daycare in our house and my dad worked in a wood mill. We would sit down and have dinner, my older brother and I would do the dishes and we talked. On the weekends there was no watching cartoons all day, or sleeping till ten never happened. We would have to get up and have breakfast together and after chores (yes we had chores) we would go outside and play. There was no cell phones, internet or even computers.

I look at the way my daughter behaved after she came back from living with family in California. She wouldn’t get up before ten in the morning, expected things that were outrageous and ask her to do the dishes, she would say that we were treating her unfairly.

When she left my house, she told me she would be violent against me if I ever raised my voice at her again. I remember being a kid and if I didn’t do the dishes, I got in trouble. There wasn’t taking a video game being taken away, it was a swat on the backside. There was not being able to go out to the mall with friends, it was having to stay inside and fold laundry.

What happened to our families? When did the kids get so much power that they can go to the school and say something that isn’t true and the parents get in trouble? I have loved history for years and are other times that people have been behaving this way. It caused a lot of problems.

I see the kids today that feel that they can do nothing wrong and guess what, they are wrong. Kids become so spoiled that they honestly think that if they have to do the dishes that it is abuse.

I grew up with chores. I learned how to do laundry, dishes, cook real food and read a book. I still use paper and pen to do story writing. While I work in tech, I still love to spend time with my family and pets. Playing with the cats with yarn that I am using to make a crochet blanket are some of the best times I have.

Leave a Reply

