WTH….

footer-logowashington_medicaid_card_provideroneWhat the heck are people thinking when they act like people who are trying to make ends meet get a job and then turn and get told you make too much for assistance. How is the family supposed to survive if they are constantly getting knocked down.

My husband and I are both ‘challenged’ and when I got my job, we were told that I make too much money for him to keep his SSI, or his medical through the DSHS. The person at Social Security told me that I should be able to get assistance for his medical through the State. I went through all the application process and I was told that I make too much to get help with medical through their program and that I would need to contact a different State site to see about insurance. They told me that we would get 16 dollars in food assistance if I did a bunch more stuff. 16 dollars for food assistance, what can a person get that is healthy for that amount.

I have been willing to serve my country, have done things and gone through things that people shouldn’t have to and when I say or ask for help I get hurt. This isn’t a Democrat problem or a Republican problem this is a common sense problem. If a person wants to work and has a job but has the courage to say they need help due to a challenge or not making enough then people should be able to get help.

This country can be great, it is great but there is so much more that we can do if we pull together. Why should a person be stigmatized for asking for assistance? Why should they be treated as a second class person for asking for help with the most basic of things?

There are basic things that are needed by everyone to make it in this world. Good food, clean water, a good roof over their head and to get the medical help that they need when they do. Good food comes from the planet, those who love to cook know that while a burger from Wendy’s is good when you make one at home and you can add what you want then it is great. Clean water, if you honestly think your tap is clean then get a meter to see what is in it. There are even sites that will tell you the water quality in the area. A solid roof over a person’s head, whether it is an apartment or a house or a hotel, the fact is that people need to be able to afford it. Where I live (outside Seattle) the apartment is 1200 per month. That doesn’t include the water or other things that are needed. My landlord has said that it is one of the least expensive places in the Seattle area.  This gets back to basic medical, why are we punished for needing it?

Leave a Reply

