Confused…

The commercials on TV confuse me. Maybe someone can help me figure it out. I understand that people want to make money, I will state this straight out but as I go through this post you will understand why more. There will be links to other sites that I am using for reference sites.

I have an understanding of how medical things work. I understand that medication companies want to make money and feel that they have the best ‘drug’ on the market. This is why it confuses me.

One of the most recent commercials I have seen is about Abilify. Abilify is used in mental health treatment. I know that it is used for very specific reasons and I understand that.(https://www.drugs.com/abilify.html)  So what I don’t understand is the recent commercial stating that if you had taken this medication and had lost a large amount of money ($30,000.00 they said) due to compulsive gambling that is was the medication’s problem. I did a Google search and found that the search results were: About 378,000 results (0.49 seconds).

This is where I get confused. If a doctor puts you on the medication it is for a very specific reason. To say that a person lost money due to a different reason is the medication makes no sense.  This is when I started to think about this post. I started to think about the other ads that I had seen and it worries me.

Some of the others that I have seen are Pradaxa. This is a type of medication that prevents human blood from clotting and causing severe medical issues. Some of these issues can include  Deep Vein Thrombosis or blood clots in the legs. It is also used for clots in the lungs and other areas. The doctor that would have put a person on this would have known that the benefits of the medications were higher than the possible side effects.(https://www.drugs.com/pradaxa.html)

Again I went to a Google Search and found that the search results are: About 125,000 results (0.43 seconds). These are for the people who are doing lawsuits against the makers of Pradaxa for severe bleeding issues.

So I decided to do one that I have heard as almost a cure all for people: Humira. This is one that has been said to deal with severe plaque psoriasis, Crohn’s Disease, Rheumatoid Arthritis and others. The fact that there are several side effects to it and it is given by injections and the public is being told that this is almost a cure all. (https://www.drugs.com/humira.html)

Again I did a Google search for any lawsuits on it and found: About 60,000 results (0.46 seconds).

So my question is if these medications are being pushed on the public why aren’t they being tested all the way. I know that people want to feel better but what about what nature has out there. Why go to the doctor for a headache when you can treat it at home for a lot less? People use medications too much and then when there is a problem they go and say it is the medications fault.

If you have dry skin for example, try looking up the recipe for peppermint oil, make some and put it in a bath. Or you can go spend money on lotion that is chemicals. The thing is that the peppermint oil can be used for so much more than just the dry skin.

Leave a Reply

