When was the last time you said ‘Thank You’ to the local police? When was the last time you gave a bottle of water to a person doing construction work? Or when a person was having trouble with getting the groceries in their car, when did you help?

There is a reason that I ask — this country has become so focused on the money aspect and what they are getting out of it that they don’t stop to think of what kindness can do.

Let me give you an example: I asked a person for some help due to some challenges that I have. I wanted to know if when they got their mail, could they get mine for me. With a walking challenge that I have it is hard to do sometimes — their response was ‘What do I get for it?’ This is getting the mail for a person with a disability, not going to the moon.

I was raised in a way that if the person had done that in my family (the official word is OUCH!) they would have had a lot of explaining to do. Now the cultures have changed so to where if you ask someone for some assistance they expect to be paid.

I know that times change, people’s looks on things change but my problem is this … when did we lose our humanity and sense of community? I have seen people who live in the same house, be in the same room and talk via texting! What would happen if their phones went poof? What if they had to use a pen and paper to write the report out?

The last job that I had, there were some ‘kids’ that didn’t know how to write in script. There are times that I get bored and will pull out a notebook and write. These ‘kids’ (under the age of 25) had no idea what it was that I was doing. They also had little to no manners.

My challenge is to show one person a bit of humanity, to say thanks to a local police officer, give a stranger working in the heat some water, help a person for no reason other than they need it and see the response you get.

159 thoughts on “Thank You …

  1. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s
    to be just what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content for you personally?

    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a few
    of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome site!

    Like

Leave a Reply

