Cultures:

All the religions have gods or lords of the dead. The reason that I chose Anubis for this one is the fact that so many people don’t truly understand who or what he is. This is something that we need to understand for many reasons. If we look at the different religions of the modern day we find there is normally one creature that is the main controller of the Underworld. I use the word Underworld instead of ‘hell’ for a good reason. To me they are very different things.

Anubis: is from the Ancient Egyptian religion which was a pantheon of Gods. The most common image that people see of Anubis is the hieroglyphs of the mummification of a pharaoh or the images of the ‘Opening of the Mouth’ ceremony when a person has passed.

So what else does Anubis do? It is seldom that the Gods do only one thing. Anubis is no different. Anubis helped with the embalming of the body, the ‘Opening of the Mouth’ so the soul can go to the afterlife and the most important one is (in my feelings) the waying of a person’s heart against the feather of Ma’at. She is the representation of ‘truth’ and the legend says that if a person’s heart is true then it will weigh the same as the feather.  (http://www.egyptianmyths.net/ ) If the scales balanced then the person was allowed into Field of Rushes. (http://australianmuseum.net.au/the-underworld-and-the-afterlife-in-ancient-egypt )

If the scales didn’t balance then the person had a slight problem …Ammut, the ‘Devourer’. The soul would be eaten by it.

157 thoughts on “The Ancient Ones …Anubis

  1. My partner and I stumbled over here from a different web page and thought I may as well check things
    out. I like what I see so now i am following you.

    Look forward to looking at your web page again.

    Like

  2. I’m not sure exactly why but this site is loading extremely slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end?
    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

    Like

  3. I’m not sure exactly why but this site is loading extremely slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end?

    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

    Like

  4. Simply want to say your article is as astounding. The clearness in your post is just cool and i
    can assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to
    grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please keep up the
    gratifying work.

    Like

  5. Simply want to say your article is as astounding. The clearness in your post
    is just cool and i can assume you are an expert on this subject.

    Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

    Like

  6. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked
    submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all
    that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say excellent blog!

    Like

  7. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways,
    just wanted to say excellent blog!

    Like

  8. I blog quite often and I genuinely appreciate your content.
    Your article has truly peaked my interest.
    I am going to take a note of your site and keep checking for
    new information about once a week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

    Like

  9. I blog quite often and I genuinely appreciate your content.
    Your article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to
    take a note of your site and keep checking for new information about
    once a week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

    Like

  10. Very good website you have here but I was curious about if you knew
    of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics talked about here?
    I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get suggestions from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Thanks a lot!

    Like

  11. Very good website you have here but I was curious about if you
    knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics talked about here?
    I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get suggestions from other knowledgeable
    people that share the same interest. If you have
    any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

    Like

  12. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you are a great
    author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will come backk from now on. I want to encourage
    you to ultimately continue your great job,
    have a nice day!

    Like

  13. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed
    reaeing it, you will be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your
    blog and will eventually come back someday. I wwnt to encourage continue your great posts, have a
    nice evening!

    Like

  14. Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I am inspired!

    Extremely useful information specifically the closing phase 🙂 I are
    for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a very lengthy time.
    Thanks and ggood luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

