fear-is-the-mind-killer

Ever have one of those days that you wish you could hide from? Everything from a shoelace breaking to not being able to do anything right? Think about it for a second … everyone has them. So how do you handle them?

No matter what belief system you have there are test along the way. Some people have more than others and some seem to get upset when the test happen.

I saw an image that made me remember that very statement and I am paraphrasing here ‘Everything you have ever wanted is on the other side of fear’. Now why is that important? If you think about it – when the test come up in our lives it is usually over something we fear.

We all have fears that we are aware of, but what about the ones that we aren’t aware of? If you are the type of person that has to be on time all the time, the unconscious fear is of being late and missing something. Do you have to be in charge of everything? Again the unconscious fear of not getting credit for doing something.

It keeps reminding me of a saying from Frank Herbert’s series of books ‘Dune’.

“I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.” (http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/2-i-must-not-fear-fear-is-the-mind-killer-fear-is )

Remember to face your fear and things will work out for the best.

Leave a Reply

