Mother nature has given us so much that those who don’t look at what is in her herb garden to cure us need to ask the brain cells to come back.

How many people remember seeing their Grandmother drink a glass of tea after dinner? How many remember what the foods were that she made? I remember my Grandmother having been in a car accident before I was born and every time we were over for dinner and we were going to have regular corn she wanted it to be the freshest possible. My Grandfather had been in the same accident but still had a garden and would get the corn and that was the way it was. If we were having mashed potatoes the skins were taken off but the potatoes had to be mashed by hand.

The apartment that I live in now (this is a true story) has a lot of Hispanic people in it. About 6 months ago I was making split pea and ham soup in a crock pot and the maintenance person came up and told my husband that the house smelled like crap. We have two cats and the box had been cleaned earlier so it was the fact that he came in the kitchen when I was stirring it and chose then to say what he did — not the smartest, (this is the funny part coming up) three days later I was making meat for taco salads and he tried to find out what time dinner was. Same person that had insulted me, wanted to know when dinner was.

Now I am the person that can’t stand seasoning packets. When I make taco meat about half my kitchen looks like a hurricane hit it. I spend the time to dice the onions, garlic, get the freshest ingredients possible and there is almost 0 (none- nada- zip) salt in the foods. I will slow cook even on the stove to make sure that the foods are healthy and taste good too.  So for me making taco meat it is a mess.  There is the leanest ground beef that I can get, onion, garlic, cilantro, stewed tomatoes with diced green chilli’s in it, salsa for the liquid, fresh ground pepper and a bit of lime juice to give it a tartness that seems to say ‘Hi there’. Slow cook it in a large frying pan and the house smells wonderful.{My kitchen usually suffers for it but that is why my husband gets the dish pan hands – I cook he cleans it up after he eats it}.

How many of us have had peppermint candy at a restaurant? The little starlight mints? There is more than one reason that the restaurants will give them out. Yes they freshen your breath but if the place has gotten the right type there is a bit of peppermint oil in them too. That is what you want. The oil has several healing things going for it. The candy is the easiest way to get it in to you.

Peppermint has a natural nerve tonic in it. If you go to Google and search how to make your own peppermint oil you will find it can be used for everything from a muscle rub to giving it to a pet with a bad stomach, to your bath water, to teas. The peppermint oil that is in the leaves (you can use tea bags for this too) and warm olive or canola oil sitting in the windowsill will cause the nerve tonic to release. A little goes a long way and trust me it smells much better than  Ben – Gay.

Leave a Reply

