What is the difference…

What is the difference between you and me? What is the difference between Donald Trump and the person working at McDonalds? What is the difference between left and right?

I had to make a few calls this week and the way they reacted was shocking and like a slap in the face. When I had to call DSHS for food assistance recertification, I had tried to get help with funds so I could pay things like rent. The person told me that I didn’t have any kids and I was willing to work so therefore I didn’t qualify for cash assistance. Wait a minute, a family of 2 can’t get help with cash assistance due to the fact that one person is willing to work and trying to find a job?  The same person turned around and had the attitude of me being lazy as if I didn’t want to work (mind you they don’t know me other than a client #)

I had contacted a local group for assistance with getting weather appropriate clothes due to the fact it is starting to get cold out and I have mostly light weight clothes. I had been told that they couldn’t help more than twice with cash the last time I talked to them. The person treated me like I was no good due to the fact that I needed help with getting warm clothes. The information that he gave was a direct contradiction to the information that I had been given before.

I tried to get help with making thing work and get treated like I am lazy. I have over 22 pages of work related emails alone of places that I have tried to get hired on at and the information that I am not good enough. Most people haven’t chosen to do what I have. How many have willingly gone into the service of the US Military? How many have willingly suffered so others can have something that they need?

Donald Trump wants to build a wall to keep the people out of the US from Mexico, but I can almost tell you that he has had people working for him that have family there. These are the people that are willing to work hard and understand that the family is more important. The people that he says are coming over are drug dealers and bad people (paraphrasing here).  If you go to a place like McDonalds, they work hard and don’t get a lot of pay but those kids are learning a lesson that will carry them for the rest of their lives. If you work hard you can make honest money!

What is the difference between the person who was born here and the person who moves legally to this country? Their DNA is only 1 or maybe 2 genes different than each other. Those that were born here have the ability to run for the highest office in the land (the President of the United States of America) those that come to the country legally and then become a citizen is not able = the only difference is where they were born. Albert Einstein was born in Germany but when things went south there he came here to the US and became a citizen. He was also one of the people that had information that that the US needed to know about what the German Government was up to.

This country is made up of many people and many cultures, putting a wall up is not going to fix the issue. When a person like Donald Trump gets endorsements from people like David Duke, you need to look deeper. If a person is taking advantage of the systems that are in place to protect the ‘regular’ person from overwhelming debt to get their companies out of bad schemes that is an abuse of power.

I have seen the best that people can do and the worst that they can do. I gained a lot of respect and learning skills from the US Military. They taught me that your word is your bond, if you are going to say that you will do something that you do it. man-shadow_pic

Those who do their best often have the most life experiences. I would suggest that if a person wants to run for an elective office that they should have to spend time (months) without their credit cards, no money in their bank accounts, have some of the challenges that we do and not be able to call on others when they need funds to make it. See how it feels on the other side of the street then run for office and see how you can change the world.

Leave a Reply

