WTF – A Veteran’s Life Update

This one is near and dear to my heart due to my veteran status!


We put our blood, sweat, tears, and lives on the line for this country and there are those that don’t seem to care about that. I have seen people who have used it against those who have served, as if we are the ones that don’t care about this country. I have been told to my face that because I am a female I can’t be a veteran.

I see kids today that things for granted that I worked my tail off for. I hear people saying that we should have done things during times of conflict that make me want to scream and yet I am the one that doesn’t love my country (WTF?! Run that by me again)

I have been told by the VA medical center that I can’t get dental care through them because I am not 100% disabled from my time in the service. This is the same medical center that chose to use me as a medication experiment and messed them up in the first place. I have had doctors tell me that I need to lose weight but ‘take this pill’ to deal with the pain that I feel from the chronic pain issues that I have.

I have been to Germany and learned that the history I was taught was only half the story. I have asked my neighbors kids (ages 13-17) what they know of some of the history that I was taught and they don’t know it.

Trying to get by and having to wait for the government to decide on if I can get SSDI meanwhile the bills keep coming. I must often make the choice do I eat or pay for the medication that the VA has put me on so I can stay sane enough to go to the store.

There are things that I do that drive my husband nuts! I will make sure that the food we eat is healthy but at the same time feel bad because the amount that we get in food assistance is not enough to get the good quality foods that we need to be healthy. I will put my needs last over his and the house and I have had people tell me that we need to be more self-sufficient. These are the same groups that if you go to their web sites they brag about helping more veterans than others in the area.

What is a person to do?


Leave a Reply

