Help thy neighbor

Do you help thy neighbor when in need? Where are the values today? This is my explanation as to what I see.

I have seen people who aren’t willing to help someone through a door when they use a walker and I don’t understand. I got raised ‘old school’ and that has held true all my life. I tried with my kids to be that way only to be told it was wrong. I am the person that even with a disability, I will help in the way that I can. I have been known to give homemade blankets to kids in my apartment complex so they can have an extra one that is special. I have been watching the way that others look at those with disabilities and get frustrated.

Helping someone should be for the good feeling you get, not money, not to be seen doing something nice. People have been doing that for centuries. The Ancient Greeks did it. The Ancient Romans did it. The Ancient Egyptians did it. What is wrong with us today?

This is what I see. The people that are my age got raised with discipline. If we did something wrong, we got in trouble for it. If we did something that was above and beyond, we got recognized for it. We didn’t have cell phones, we didn’t have iPads, Xboxes, we didn’t have the internet or 500 channels to watch.

We had books, some were rather heavy. We had to carry change if we were going to be late for the payphone. The most important thing was we had values.

When I was growing up, if I wanted a pair of Nike shoes, I had chores to do. I would have to above and beyond to get extra money to be able to afford them. I had a neighbor that was an elderly man and more than once, I remember helping them take their garbage out. Why? They had trouble walking, so I did it to help.

I have people in the apartment complex I live in now that are disabled, when I cook I make a bit extra. Why? I want to make sure that they eat healthy. I don’t have a lot of money. I have a crockpot and the desire to make sure that they eat well. When I go to the store, I call them and ask them if they need something. Why? I want to make sure they are taken care of.

What can you do? Help someone for the simple reason of helping. When you go to the store, see if neighbor needs something, if your neighbor needs help with the garbage, take it out for them. It takes 5 seconds to care about your neighbor. The smiles are worth it.

One thought on “Help thy neighbor

  1. Right here is the right site for anyone who wants to find out about this topic.
    You know a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you
    (not that I personally would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic that has been discussed
    for ages. Wonderful stuff, just great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

