“Revolution Calling” …

If you had one thing that you could do to make a difference what would it be? For me it is communicate. People have different ways of speaking. Some like the members of bands like Queensryche use their music to get the message out on how they feel. Others write books, others teach, others go to rallies to show support. The fact is that whatever they are doing they are making a difference in someone’s thought process.

With the way that things are going right now there is a song that keeps coming to mind on how I feel. It is done by Queensryche and it is called ‘Revolution Calling’ ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dr98kf2nwmw ). The words seem to make sense to me. Here are the words to the song and maybe you will agree with me.

“Revolution Calling”

For a price I’d do about anything
Except pull the trigger
For that I’d need a pretty good cause
Then I heard of Dr. X
The man with the cure
Just watch the television
Yeah, you’ll see there’s something going on

Got no love for politicians
Or that crazy scene in D.C.
It’s just a power mad town
But the time is ripe for changes
There’s a growing feeling
That taking a chance on a new kind of vision is due

I used to trust the media
To tell me the truth, tell us the truth
But now I’ve seen the payoffs
Everywhere I look
Who do you trust when everyone’s a crook?

Revolution calling
Revolution calling
Revolution calling you
(There’s a) Revolution calling
Revolution calling
Gotta make a change
Gotta push, gotta push it on through

I’m tired of all this bullshit
They keep selling me on T.V.
About the communist plan
And all the shady preachers
Begging for my cash
Swiss bank accounts while giving their
Secretaries the slam

They’re all in Penthouse now
Or Playboy magazine, million dollar stories to tell
I guess Warhol wasn’t wrong
Fame fifteen minutes long
Everyone’s using everybody, making the sale

I used to think
That only America’s way, way was right
But now the holy dollar rules everybody’s lives
Gotta make a million doesn’t matter who dies

Revolution calling
Revolution calling
Revolution calling you
(There’s a) Revolution calling
Revolution calling
Gotta make a change
Gotta push, gotta push it on through

I used to trust the media
To tell me the truth, tell us the truth
But now I’ve seen the payoffs
Everywhere I look
Who do you trust when everyone’s a crook?

Revolution calling
Revolution calling
Revolution calling you
(There’s a) Revolution calling
Revolution calling
Gotta make a change
Gotta push, gotta push it on through

If we look at the world that we are living in today, we have people in offices that they have no experience with dealing with other countries on issues other than business deals. These are the people who think that changes that were put in place by the last presidential office holder aren’t going to help this country but don’t have a clue that the real world is harder than one where you have a golden spoon in your mouth all the time.

When you have a person who is supposed to be the National Security Adviser to the President and has to leave due to the fact that they were found to have major contacts with another country that is a problem. The same is true with Attorney General, they are being looked into at this time.

These are the payoffs and deals that we are supposed to ignore? I don’t think so. That is the reason that the song means so much to me. It shows what needs to be done. We are in trouble and I mean big trouble. Marilyn Manson said it best right after the school shooting at Columbine. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1NOFSOeOBsk )

This is part of his interview.

Marilyn Manson: When I was a kid growing up, music was the escape. That’s the only thing that had no judgments. You know, you put on a record, and it’s not going to yell at you for dressing the way you do. It’s going to make you feel better about it.

[about accusations that he was responsible for Columbine killings]
Marilyn Manson: I definitely can see why they would pick me. Because I think it’s easy to throw my face on the TV, because in the end, I’m a poster boy for fear. Because I represent what everyone is afraid of, because I say and do whatever I want.

Marilyn Manson: The two by-products of that whole tragedy were, violence in entertainment, and gun control. And how perfect that that was the two things that we were going to talk about with the upcoming election. And also, then we forgot about Monica Lewinsky and we forgot about, uh, the President was shooting bombs overseas, yet I’m a bad guy because I, well I sing some rock-and-roll songs, and who’s a bigger influence, the President or Marilyn Manson? I’d like to think me, but I’m going to go with the President.
Michael Moore: Do you know that on the day of the Columbine massacre, the US dropped more bombs on Kosovo than any other day?
Marilyn Manson: I do know that, and I think that’s really ironic, that nobody said ‘well maybe the President had an influence on this violent behavior’ Because that’s not the way the media wants to take it and spin it, and turn it into fear, because then you’re watching television, you’re watching the news, you’re being pumped full of fear, there’s floods, there’s AIDS, there’s murder, cut to commercial, buy the Acura, buy the Colgate, if you have bad breath they’re not going to talk to you, if you have pimples, the girl’s not going to fuck you, and it’s just this campaign of fear, and consumption, and that’s what I think it’s all based on, the whole idea of ‘keep everyone afraid, and they’ll consume.’

Michael Moore: If you were to talk directly to the kids at Columbine or the people in that community, what would you say to them if they were here right now?
Marilyn Manson: I wouldn’t say a single word to them I would listen to what they have to say, and that’s what no one did.

www.imdb.com/title/tt0310793/quotes

This is the kind of warping and spinning that has been going on for ages. It needs to stop due to the basic freedoms that we will lose over it.

Leave a Reply

