Rent/Food = Net vs Gross

strangebuttruehistory

When a person must choose between food and rent or paying a bill that should be covered by the medical assistance that they have, what choice do they really have? Most people would choose feeding their family over paying the bill and hope that the insurance would kick in.

When they must go to the State for assistance, why is it that the decision on if they get help is made off their gross income and not the net income? I have seen it happen time and time again and now it is happening to me.

My main medical was through the VA Medical system. When I lost my job, they based on if I could afford my medication copayment off my gross income from the previous year. This is technical issue number 1. Now, I had just lost my job at the time and they want to use…

View original post 494 more words

Leave a Reply

