Cinco de Mayo …

Does anyone really know why Cinco de Mayo is important? Why would something that has to do with Mexico be important with the United States?

With today being the 5th of May I thought it would be a good history lesson of why this day is important not only to Mexico but to the United States as well. I will site the sources that I use as well.

Cinco de Mayo or the 5th of May is the holiday that celebrates the Mexican Army’s 1862 victory over France at the Battle of Puebla during the Franco – Mexican War (1861 – 1867).1 While it isn’t a major holiday in Mexico but in the United States it has evolved into a commemoration of the Mexican culture and heritage. This is most common in locations with large Mexican – American populations.

In 1861 Benito Juarez was the President of Mexico. He was born in 1806 into the Zapotec Indian Tribe in San Pablo Guelatao, Oaxaca, Mexico. At this time, Mexico was coming out of 30 years of domestic violence. The treasury was nearly bankrupt. 2

 

 

 

Sources:

1} http://www.history.com/topics/holidays/cinco-de-mayo

2} http://www.biography.com/people/benito-ju%C3%A1rez-39733

 


 

20 thoughts on “Cinco de Mayo …

Add yours

  1. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing for your feed and I hope you write once more very soon!

    Like

  2. What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively helpful and it has aided me out loads. I am hoping to give a contribution & aid different users like its helped me. Good job.|

    Like

  3. Thanks for this excellent content! I seriously liked reading it.I’ll be sure to take note of your site and definitely will come back in the future. I want to suggest that you keep going with the wonderful work, perhaps blog about movies to watch as well, have a nice evening!

    Like

  4. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.|

    Like

  5. We definitely love your site and find many of the articles to be exactly what I am interested in. Do you offer guest writers to post material for you? I wouldn’t mind composing a story relating to dental office or possibly on some of the things you are writing about on this page. Nice blog!

    Like

  6. What i do not realize is in truth how you are not actually a lot more smartly-favored than you might be right now. You’re very intelligent. You realize therefore considerably with regards to this subject, produced me for my part consider it from so many various angles. Its like women and men don’t seem to be interested until it is one thing to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your individual stuffs great. Always handle it up!

    Like

  7. It is appropriate time to make some plans for the longer term and it is time to be happy. I have learn this post and if I could I wish to counsel you some attention-grabbing things or tips. Maybe you can write subsequent articles regarding this article. I desire to read even more issues approximately it!

    Like

  8. Many thanks for the superb posting! I seriously appreciated it.I will make certain to take note of your blog and will often return in the future. I wish to suggest you to definitely keep on with your wonderful job, even blog about wireless intercom phone also, have a nice day!

    Like

  9. I was conversing with a friend of mine about this article and also regarding kik too. I believe you made some very good points in this article, we’re also excited to read more material from you.

    Like

  10. Good day! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success. If you know of any please share. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Proud Navy Veteran

Political Views and News

Let Food Be Thy Medicine

This is to show that food can help with how you are feeling and that there are other things that we can do than take pills.

Tech for the Real World

The World of tech is a challenge, this is to be easier

Welcome to the Wild World of Mythology

This is for those who go why?

Rcooley123's Blog

Rick Cooley's Blog

spiritofootball

Which animal do you follow?

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Le Blog BlookUp

Imprimez et transformez vos contenus digitaux, blogs et réseaux sociaux, en magnifiques livres papier sur blookup.com

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

moviemadness458

The wonderful fun of movies

Live ClareLesley

A pastiche of inspiration, advice, and choice-gone-wrong scenarios to entertain, enlighten, and spotlight needed life changes, in order to take yourself not so seriously.

Lirean

Smart language learning

Sheila Renee Parker

Author. Paranormal. Romance. Fantasy. Follow Sheila on Twitter! @sheilarparker

