An Obsession …

We all have them, obsessions. Why are they important and how can we handle what we desire so badly? What do you have an obsession about?

Me, I will admit that I have many and they all make me who and what I am. I honestly would have to say my totally worst one is learning. If I could get paid to go to school on line and learn about the random things that I love all the time, that would be one of the ideal jobs to me. The reason is that I love to learn things. Sometimes it is the random thing that will make me ask questions and that will drive me to learn more about it and the next thing I will realize is that I have been stuck on one thing for hours or even days.

One of my other things is that I love to write. People can tell by the fact that I do the blog sites and free write short stories and want to be a published author one day. To me the fact that I can get information out that others might want to ask questions about is a good feeling. I get comments about those who want to know what I find the easiest way to write or how to set up a blog of their own and that is a great feeling.

When you look at a question, how many ways do you look at it? Do you look at it in one way or do you look at it then turn it 20 degrees to the left and look at it again? Those who find that they look at it in more than one way might be the ones that have a better look or digging into of a question than someone one who just follows the ‘party’ line to make a point.

With the internet, up and running it is easy to find the best information or the worst. I have something I can’t stand with a passion and that is Wikipedia. The reason is that when you go to the site you can make alterations to it and they don’t always check the information. While I understand getting information that is outside the normal out is a good thing but you need to check the facts. When you check the facts, you want to know that the source is going to be reliable and that is something I try to do with the information that I put out.

I have done it ever since the time I was in the US Army and it has stayed with me for a long time. It is just like I do things in sets of three, don’t ask me why I just do it. If it is an important email then it gets sent to a total of three people to make sure that they can’t say they didn’t get it. When I go to bed, I check three times to make sure the door is locked – some say that is being overly protective but why? Making sure the door is locked is a good thing. To me it is a habit.

What kind of habits do you have that you can harness into an obsession and that obsession can help or in some cases hurt you. If you are known to have an addictive personality then you want to be careful with what you focus that hard on. For those who have trouble focusing then it might be a good idea to try and test yourself.

Find something that you love and see what you can learn about it. Be willing to look outside the box then take that question and turn it 45 degrees and look at it again. You might be surprised at what you see.

Leave a Reply

