Play the Game … ‘Opening Your Mind’

I want to challenge each person to play the game of “Opening your mind”. This isn’t a board game that you go out and buy … this is changing your perception of the world. I have a series of things that royally irritate me that the younger people do. I would love to see just one person change their perception on how they behave and try to make the world a better place.

First off here is a word to image association for the first thing. When I say ‘disabled’ what do most people think of? However, there are other people that are disabled that people say, ‘Get a Job’ to or that they are slackers. When I think of a person with a disability, my thoughts are of a person with mental challenges, one that is blind, or one that has pain issues.

If a person is in pain, how can you rate that compared to what you feel? Does the ‘universal’ pain scale really work? In some senses yes the universal pain scale does work and not at 100% . For a person like me a ten might be very different than a twenty something person.

When you see a person struggling, do you help them or do you keep going? If a person was trying to get their groceries up the stairs, would you help or walk by? If you did help them would you do it for free or would you expect something in return?

This is where people need to open their minds just a bit. If your only reason to help someone is to get something in return then your reason for helping is wrong. If you help the person for no other reason than to help the person, then your mindset is one that I applaud. Those with the mindset of helping a person for the general reason to help someone are the ones that will show the respect of helping a disable person is rare now a day.

I get frusterated when I see the young kids who won’t help because they aren’t getting something in return. Whatever happened to pride of doing something for the simple reason of helping them? Where is the pride of making something with your own hands only to donate it to a person that has need of it.

One of the things that I do is crochet blankets. My husband and I don’t need tons so each winter I send them to the otherside of the mountains and to my Grandma. She from there gives them to the local churches and they can get them to the people in need. When I hear that people got them and they are having something warm in the cold of winter that is my reward.




So, what is your sense of pride in? Is it in computers? Is it working with wood? Can you turn what you have pride into something that will help the community?

If we open our eyes and open our hearts then we can help others and get the sense of pride back. It can be making sure a person has a good meal that is in your complex or neighborhood. Maybe it is something as simple as taking someone’s garbage out for them when they aren’t expecting it. It could be calling a person that you know that lives near you and saying “Hey, I wanted to let you know that I haven’t seen you out of the apartment, are you OK?” Or offering to get them something at the store that they need.

Giving of yourself will give you the best sense of pride in the world. It doesn’t have to cost anything, just your desire to show someone that they are special.

Try it and see how you feel – it is a better high than any drug or booze can ever give. The more you do it the more you feel that natural high and the more you want to help others.

Leave a Reply

