If You had a chance …

If you had a chance to have anyone over for dinner, who would it be? Why would you choose that person? What would make for dinner? For me there are several professional wrestlers that I would have under the condition that their family came as well. This dinner invite has never been put out in this way but it is simple and true – I offer friendship and a nice meal.

While there are many that I could like to have over for dinner, I think I would have to go with the Calaway family from Texas. Now you may wonder when I say the Calaway family, why? The simple fact is that both Mark and Michelle have been willing to put their lives and bodies on the line for our ‘entertainment’. You look at Mark’s years as the wrestler ‘The Undertaker’. You look at Michelle’s career first as a teacher and then as a professional wrestler as ‘Michelle McCool’. They have a family and have put their lives on the line more than once.

When you look at some of the injuries that have happened to people in that line of work, you should wonder how safe they are at times? Mark has wrestled with a cast on one hand due to it being broken. How many times has his back been injured?

The fact that I would invite their entire family would be because to me they are people and not just former professional wrestlers. I used to be friends with them on Facebook when I was on it. I had the chance to talk with them through Facebook and more than that, there were aspects of their personality that they don’t show on the world stage.

They wouldn’t get something that cost a fortune and be exotic. They would get real food that we eat every day. I would probably do something like homemade chili, cornbread, and rice. I enjoy cooking and the chili would truly be homemade. I use dried beans (3 types) 3 pounds of meat, fresh onion, fresh garlic, fresh jalapenos, diced tomatoes, spaghetti sauce for my tomato base and a crock pot. 7 hours of cooking and they would have a real dinner.

I would be honored to have people like that over to my house. To me they are people who need to be respected for what they are willing to do. Homemade meals are more to them than spending a ton of money for something fancy. Being a real person who offers friendship means more than a person who pretends to be something they are not.

I would offer friendship, and a place where they can be themselves. Being a person who cares is more important than spending a ton of money and having bragging rights to say that someone was at your house.

Could you do that? Would you?

Leave a Reply

